Leak Of The Day: Queens Of The Stone Age Enters A New Era

May 24th, 2007 // 11 Comments

hommedontplaythat.jpgQueens Of The Stone Age’s Era Vulgaris has been foisted upon the Internet, almost a month before its release–meaning that, at this very moment, a pissed-off Josh Homme is standing in the offices of Interscope, chain-smoking and looking generally intimidating. Two stand-out tracks below: The anti-materialism mau mau “I’m Designer” (which incorporates Josh Homme’s high-pitched “spooky” voice) and the approriately titled “Make It With Chu”:

Queens Of The Stone Age – I’m Designer [MP3, link expired]
Queens Of The Stone Age – Make It Wit Chu [MP3, link expired]


  1. MeEducated

    Make It Wit Chu is just an old Desert Sessions track, and they haven’t done loads to it here. Not that that’s a new development for QOTSA (and I’m a fan).

  2. beta.rogan

    Seeing as all the tracks were “leaked” from an official site, one would wonder how much of this is intentional. I can’t imagine they would allow such shoddy security measures as to allow anyone with half a brain to DL the whole album.

    This is where they came from:

  3. PengIn

    This is less good than I would have hoped. Also, if Josh is going to keep recutting DS tracks, I vote for Going To A Hanging or the entirety of Volumes 1 and 2.

  4. theminx

    I’m boycotting QOTSA for sending that damn airplane to fly all over Coachella, it was distracting as hell.

  5. rinjonjori

    These songs are good, but nothing to write home about. Lullabies was the first album not to include DS tracks (I Think). Nick O. hit it on the head about a year back. The material just doesn’t rock out. The guitars just have not been the same since Songs for the Deaf and that is all on JOsh. No Bass player in the world is going to make these songs any better.

  6. Charlie Kerfelds Jetsons Tee

    @rinjonjori: To my ears, things haven’t really sounded good since “Rated R.”

    Some of the tunes on “Songs for the Deaf” were pretty cool, but I can’t stand the production from there on out. I’m definitely with you on it not being a bass player issue, though. Their eponymous debut is incredible. Nick wasn’t on that one, save for the answering machine message in “I Was a Teenage Hand Model.”

    Kudos to whoever said that the first two volumes of “The Desert Sessions” would be more remake-friendly. Although, I love those songs so much… I’m not sure I’d want to see them messed around with.

    I don’t need to hear P.J. Harvey guesting on “Cake (Who Shit on the?).”

  7. TriedandTrue

    The idea of Josh H standing in my office, chain smoking and fuming scares me….a lot.

  8. antistar

    The debut and “Rated R” were great. “Songs For The Deaf” was decent, but the last one stunk. The new one is better overall. These 2 tracks do not really stand out to me, but I’ll take Josh at his worst over almost any other artist in the “alternative rock” genre.

  9. SterileEyes

    This is good stuff. I’m glad the mix is a bit louder than Lullabies.

    I hope there’s a “Someone’s In The Wolf” style epic on this record though.

  10. cutshallow

    I listened to the album for the first time today, and I’d say it’s better than Lullabies, but that’s about it. I like it – it’s really good, but there was this organic element to QOTSA on the first three albums that’s missing now; they sounded like the desert they came from. Now they sound like a heavy metal cyborg, very streamlined, very post-Electro (knowing that Josh is into Bjork & Peaches makes sense), but still with thick riffs. Think of the difference between Zeppelin’s “Dazed & Confused” or “Whole Lotta Love”, then compare those with, say, “Wanton Song” or “Achilles Last Stand”. That’s the kind of jump. It’s good & heavy, but in a different way.

    I’m thinking Josh figures he explored the classic version of Rock’s seedy underbelly, like the alleys where the Ramones threw up & the bathroom stalls where Iggy shot up (he has said that he started with a 3-album plan), and he’s moved on to checking out the new-millennial, wireless, streaming porn & hacking & downloading underbelly of post-Nu Metal, modern Rock. It’s a bit of a if ya cant beat em join em approach, but then once he joins, Josh bests them at their own game.

  11. andynomore

    I agree completely with cutshallow. The new album is difficult to listen to with the first two or three in mind. It’s very different with a different vibe. Because “Make it Wit Chu” is a desert session track it doesn’t fit the vibe well but there are some really great songs on the album. I’m Designer is like a spectacular failure. It’s not great, but you can see the ambition behind it. Look out for Turnin on the Screw, Suture Up Your Future, Into the Hollow, and Run Pig Run. Good stuff.

Leave A Comment