Popjustice Continues “Be Proud Of British Music Day” With Its Own Shortlist Of Perfect Pop


Now that the British music establishment has declared its favorite home-grown albums of the year with the Mercury Prize nominations, the cheeky British pop site Popjustice has seen fit to announce its shortlist for The Popjustice Twenty Quid Music Prize, which honors the best British single of the year. The artist behind the winning song gets twenty pounds, and the voting is decided by you! (And me, and anyone else.) So all you commenters who want to avenge Lily Allen’s being left off the Mercury Prize list can. Other nominees include the Pet Shop Boys’ “Love Etc” and Saint Etienne’s “Method Of Modern Love”; I’m probably going to throw my weight behind Girls Aloud’s “The Promise,” what with it being completely overplayed (yet not played enough) by my assortment of digital-music players in recent months. All the nominees, after the jump! ‘Beat Again’ by JLS ‘Better Off As Two’ by Frankmusik ‘I’m Not Alone’ by Calvin Harris ‘In For The Kill’ by La Roux ‘Love Etc’ by Pet Shop Boys ‘Method Of Modern Love’ by Saint Etienne ‘New In Town’ by Little Boots ‘Take Me Back’ by Tinchy Stryder ‘The Promise’ by Girls Aloud ‘Up’ by The Saturdays ‘The Boy Does Nothing’ by Alesha Dixon ‘The Fear’ by Lily Allen And here is what all their covers look like: Pretty! Look for any and all of these songs to be name-dropped by Perez soon.The Popjustice Twenty Quid Music Prize [Popjustice]