The Juno Award Nominations Provide A Stark Reminder Of Nickelback’s CanCon Status

noah | February 3, 2009 3:30 am

Nominations for the Juno Awards—the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences’ equivalent to the Grammys—were announced today, and the big winner was the Vancouver band of heshers Nickelback, who are up for five prizes including Single Of The Year and Album Of The Year; personal favorites like Black Mountain and Sloan, as well as that deliciously inescapable Kardinal Offishall/Akon track from last summer, got nods as well. I’m sure Gene Simmons is studying this list very closely right now, trying to figure out what works in the Great White North. (Perhaps he should try and find a Guns N’ Roses tribute band up there, since CARAS had the balls to nominate Chinese Democracy for International Album Of The Year.) Partial list of nominees after the jump.

JUNO FAN CHOICE AWARD Céline Dion Feist Hedley Nickelback The Lost Fingers

SINGLE OF THE YEAR “Taking Chances,” Céline Dion “Lay It On The Line,” Divine Brown “Dangerous,” Kardinal Offishall feat. Akon “Lost,” Michael Bublé “Gotta Be Somebody,” Nickelback

INTERNATIONAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR Black Ice, AC/DC Viva La Vida, Coldplay Chinese Democracy, Guns N’ Roses Sleep Through The Static, Jack Johnson Death Magnetic, Metallica

ALBUM OF THE YEAR (SPONSORED BY CANADIAN RECORDING INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION) Famous Last Words, Hedley Dark Horse, Nickelback Simple Plan ’70s Volume 2, Sylvain Cossette Lost In The ’80s, The Lost Fingers

ARTIST OF THE YEAR Bryan Adams City and Colour k.d. lang Sam Roberts Serena Ryder

GROUP OF THE YEAR Great Big Sea Nickelback Simple Plan The Trews Tokyo Police Club

NEW ARTIST OF THE YEAR Crystal Shawanda Jessie Farrell Kreesha Turner Lights Underground Nikki Yanofsky

NEW GROUP OF THE YEAR Beast Cancer Bats Crystal Castles Plants and Animals The Stills

SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR Alanis Morissette, “Underneath” | “Not As We” | “In Praise Of The Vulnerable Man” Dallas Green, “Waiting…” | “Sleeping Sickness” | “The Girl” Gordie Sampson, “When I Said I Would” | “Just A Dream” | “Davey Jones” Hedley, “Old School” | “For The Nights I Can’t Remember” | “Never Too Late” – Greig Nori Nathan Ferraro, “Never Again” | “Change For You” | “Unaware”

COUNTRY RECORDING OF THE YEAR Thankful, Aaron Pritchett Dawn Of A New Day, Crystal Shawanda Beautiful Life, Doc Walker What I Do, George Canyon Chasing The Sun, Tara Oram

ADULT ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR Between The Beautifuls, Hawksley Workman Asking For Flowers, Kathleen Edwards Exit Strategy Of The Soul, Ron Sexsmith Ronboy Rhymes*Warner The Baroness, Sarah Slean WEA*Warner is it o.k, Serena Ryder EMI

ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR In The Future, Black Mountain Soft Airplane, Chad VanGaalen The Chemistry Of Common Life, Fucked Up Parc Avenue, Plants and Animals Oceans Will Rise, The Stills

POP ALBUM OF THE YEAR Flavors of Entanglement, Alanis Morissette No Sleep At All, Creature Wake Up And Say Goodbye, David Usher Passion, Kreesha Turner Holes, The Midway State

ROCK ALBUM OF THE YEAR Terminal Romance, Matt Mays & El Torpedo Fortress, Protest The Hero Love At The End Of The World, Sam Roberts Parallel Play, Sloan No Time For Later, The Trews

RAP RECORDING OF THE YEAR A Captured Moment In Time, DL Incognito The Book, D-Sisive I Rap, Now Famous Not 4 Sale, Kardinal Offishall Point Blank

DANCE RECORDING OF THE YEAR Everything’s Gonna Be Alright, James Doman Get Blahsted, Hatiras & MC Flipside Move For Me, Deadmau5 vs. Kaskade Random Album Title, Deadmau5 Yes We Can, House Music United

R&B/SOUL RECORDING OF THE YEAR The Love Chronicles, Divine Brown The Promise, Deborah Cox Deco*KOCH Elise Estrada TONY, Ivana Santilli Money, Zaki Ibrahim

JACK RICHARDSON PRODUCER OF THE YEAR David Foster Daniel Lanois k.d. lang Nickelback & Joey Moi (co-producer Mutt Lange) Stuart Brawley

Juno Awards [Official site; HT Vancouver Sun]