Nickelback: Your Slightly Terrifying Face Of Canadian Rock

noah | March 30, 2009 9:30 am

Canadian heshers Nickelback took home Album Of The Year, Group Of The Year, and the Juno Fan Choice Award at last night’s Juno Awards, which reward the best that Canadian music has to offer. (Gene Simmons is probably very, very excited right now.) Other winners: The sinewy Kardinal Offishall/Akon collab “Dangerous,” which won Single Of The Year; Alanis Morrissette, whose Flavors Of Entanglement picked up the Pop Album trophy; and the Stills, who brought home New Group of the Year and the Alternative Album award. Full list of winners after the jump.

Album of the Year: Nickelback, Dark Horse

Single of the Year: Kardinal Offishall, “Dangerous”

Group of the Year: Nickelback

Artist of the Year: Sam Roberts

Juno Fan Choice Award: Nickelback

Songwriter of the Year: Dallas Green (“Waiting…”; “Sleeping Sickness”; “The Girl” from Bring Me Your Love by City and Colour)

New Group of the Year: The Stills

New Artist of the Year: Lights

Rap Recording of the Year: Kardinal Offishall, Not 4 Sale

International Album of the Year: Coldplay, Viva La Vida

Country Recording of the Year: Doc Walker, Beautiful Life

Adult Alternative Album of the Year: Serena Ryder, is it o.k

Alternative Album of the Year: The Stills, Oceans Will Rise

Pop Album of the Year: Alanis Morissette, Flavors of Entanglement

Rock Album of the Year: Sam Roberts, Love at the End of the World

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year: Molly Johnson, Lucky

Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year: Jane Bunnett, Embracing Voices

Traditional Jazz Album of the Year: Oliver Jones, Second Time Around

Instrumental Album of the Year: DJ Brace presents the Electric Nosehair Orchestra, Nostomania

Francophone Album of the Year: Ariane Moffatt, Tous les sens

Children’s Album of the Year: Barenaked Ladies, Snacktime!

Classical Album of the Year: James Ehnes, Homage

Classical Album of the Year (Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment): Orchestre symphonique de Montreal/Kent Nagano, Beethoven: Ideals of the French Revolution

Classical Album of the Year (Vocal or Choral Performance): Ensemble Caprice, Gloria! Vivaldi’s Angels

Classical Composition of the Year: John Burge, “Flanders Fields Reflections”

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: Divine Brown, The Love Chronicles

Dance Recording of the Year: Deadmau5, Random Album Title

Reggae Recording of the Year: Humble, Everything

Aboriginal Album of the Year: Buffy Sainte-Marie, Running For the Drum

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Solo): Old Man Luedecke, Proof of Love

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Group): Chic Gamine

Blues Album of the Year: Julian Fauth, Ramblin’ Son

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year: Downhere, Ending is Beginning

World Music Album of the Year: Jayme Stone & Mansa Sissoko, Africa to Appalachia

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year: Daniel Lanois, “Here Is What Is”/”Not Fighting Anymore” (from Here Is What Is by Daniel Lanois)

Recording Engineer of the Year: Kevin Churko, “Disappearing”/”The Big Bang” (from U-Catastrophone by Simon Collins)

CD/DVD Artwork Design of the Year: Anouk Pennel (Director/Designer); Stephane Poirier (Illustrator), “En concert dans la foret des mal-aimes avec l’Orchestre Metropolitain du Grand Montreal” by Pierre Lapointe

Video of the Year: Anthony Seck, “Honey Honey” (Feist)

Music DVD of the Year: Christopher Mills, director; Geoff McLean, producer, “Blue Road” by Blue Rodeo

JUNO Awards [Official site]