Jay-Z, Nicki Minaj, Beyonce, Lady Gaga And Justin Bieber Up For 2010 BET Awards

Robbie Daw | May 18, 2010 1:20 pm

Nominees for the 2010 BET Awards were announced today, and recent Coachella headliner Jay-Z leads the pack with a total of five nods (Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Best Collaboration for “Empire State Of Mind,” Best Video for both “Run This Town” and “Empire State Of Mind” and Viewer’s Choice for “Empire State Of Mind”). Tied with four nominations each are Beyonce (including one for Lady Gaga collaboration “Video Phone”), Alicia Keys, Melanie Fiona and Trey Songz. Meanwhile, tattooed pop teen Justin Bieber finds himself up against not only “Your Love” MC Nicki Minaj in the Best New Artist category, but also the entire Young Money crew. Does he even stand a chance? See the full list of music nominations for the 2010 BET Awards below.

Queen Latifah is set to host the BET Awards gig as it’s broadcast live from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Sunday, June 27.

One oddball nominations: Rihanna’s “Hard” is up for Viewer’s Choice. Why not the more popular (and far better) “Rude Boy”?

BEST FEMALE R&B ARTIST Beyonce Mary J. Blige Melanie Fiona Alicia Keys Rihanna

BEST MALE R&B ARTIST Chris Brown Raheem DeVaughn Maxwell Trey Songz Usher

BEST FEMALE HIP HOP ARTIST Ester Dean Lil Kim Nicki Minaj Rasheeda Trina

BEST MALE HIP HOP ARTIST B.o.B. Drake Fabolous Jay-Z Ludacris

BEST NEW ARTIST Justin Bieber Melanie Fiona Nicki Minaj Wale Young Money

BEST GOSPEL The Anointed Pace Sisters Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti Tamela Mann Marvin Sapp Vickie Winans

BEST GROUP Black Eyed Peas Clipse Diddy-Dirty Money New Boyz Young Money

BEST COLLABORATION Beyonce f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone” B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ On You” Drake & Trey Songz – “Successful” Drake f/ Lil Wayne, Kanye West & Eminem – “Forever” Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind” Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Aah”

VIDEO DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR Benny Boom Gil Green Anthony Mandler Chris Robinson Hype Williams

VIDEO OF THE YEAR Beyonce f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone” B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ On You” Melanie Fiona – “It Kills Me” Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind” Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – “Run This Town”

YOUNGSTARS AWARD Selena Gomez Lil JJ Keke Palmer Willow Smith Tyler James Williams

VIEWER’S CHOICE Beyonce – “Sweet Dreams” Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind” Monica – “Everything To Me” Rihanna f/ Young Jeezy – “Hard” Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Aah” Young Money (Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj, Jae Millz, Drake, Tyga) f/ Lloyd – “Bedrock”

BEST INTERNATIONAL ACT Kojo Antwi (Ghana) Chipmunk (UK) Dizzee Rascal (UK) Estelle (UK) Hip Hop Pantsula (HHP) (South Africa) K’NAAN (Somalia) M.I. (Nigeria) P-Square (Nigeria) Corinne Bailey Rae (UK) Sade (UK)

CENTRIC AWARD Melanie Fiona Maxwell Chrisette Michele Monica Sade