Gorillaz Reveal ‘The Fall’ Track Listing, Plus A Preview Of A New Song

Becky Bain | December 22, 2010 11:23 am

Though you may be feeling gloomy that the current Gorillaz lineup may never perform together again, cheer up: the band’s “iPad album”, The Fall, will be available for download for members of the Subdivision fan club on Christmas Day. Worry not if you’re not a fan club member — you can listen to a stream of the album on the Gorillaz website the same day, and a physical release of the LP is planned for sometime in 2011. Check out the track list for The Fall below, as well as a brief snippet of the new song “Phoner To Arizona.”

Gorillaz — The Fall

1. Phoner To Arizona 2. Revolving Doors 3. HillBilly Man 4. Detroit 5. Shy-town 6. Little Pink Plastic Bags 7. The Joplin Spider 8. The Parish of Space Dust 9. The Snake In Dallas 10. Amarillo 11. The Speak It Mountains 12. Aspen Forest 13. Bobby In Phoenix 14. California And The Slipping Of The Sun 15. Seattle Yodel

On the Gorillaz website, Albarn wrote about creating the album while on the road:

“I did it because there’s a lot of time that you just spend staring at walls essentially. And it was a fantastic way of doing it,” says Damon Albarn. “I found working in the day, whether it’s in the hotel or in the venue, it was a brilliant way of keeping myself well.” Adding that the collection is “..like a diary, I literally wrote everything on the day in each place and there’s a strange sort of sound of America and its musical traditions that comes through. It feels like a journey through America.”

Check out 18 seconds of opening track “Phoner To Arizona” in this video, spliced together with photos from the Gorillaz world tour:

UPDATE: Here’s the alleged full (dizzying) video, played on somebody’s iPad! How fitting!