Lady Gaga Leads MTV O Awards Nominations

Becky Bain | April 5, 2011 11:15 am

Already a regular at MTV awards shows, Lady Gaga leads the pack with three nominations for the first annual MTV O Awards, honoring the best, wildest and weirdest in digital music. The awards, which will be broadcast in an hour long webcast on April 28, comes with some unconventional categories, from Best Music Hashtag Meme to Favorite Animated GIF to Must Follow Artist On Twitter. (Apparently MTV has no problem with misogynistic and offensive tweets, as 50 Cent is among the nominees.) Check out all the noms and categories below.

Best Fan Cover

Scampi Mike Tompkins Maria Aragon PS22 Chorus Jorge and Alexa Narvaez Alex Goot

Innovative Music Video

Arcade Fire Robyn Chris Milk Cassius Sour OK Go Das Racist Craig Wedren Andy Grammer

Fan Army FTW

Beliebers Little Monsters Taylor Gang Barbiez Clouds Echelon Killjoys & MCRmy Tokio Hotel Fans Bandaids Rihanna Navy Glamberts

Funniest Music Short

Antoine Dodson & Gregory Brothers Portlandia Lonely Island Lonely Island Funny or Die

Innovative Artist

Radiohead Tyler the Creator Kanye West Lady Gaga Lil B The Flaming Lips iamamiwhoami

Must Follow Artist on Twitter

Kanye West Nicki Minaj Amanda Palmer Tyler the Creator 50 Cent Ted Leo Questlove Lady Gaga

NSFW Music Video

Yuck M.I.A. The Flaming Lips Earl Sweatshirt UNKLE

Most Viral Dance

The Dougie The Berney Dance Willow Smith’s Whip My Hair Dance Lil B’s Cooking Dance Ginuwine Pony

Best Independent Music Blog

Aquarium Drunkard My Old Kentucky Blog Gorilla vs Bear Brooklyn Vegan Nah Right Arjan Writes Hipster Runoff Transparent Blog Said the Gramophone Pretty Much Amazing Discobelle

Best Tweet

Kanye West Kanye West Kanye West Kanye West Kanye West

Best Music Hashtag Meme

#fatindiebands #awfulsupergroups #failedrockbandmovies #lessambitiousbands #bustinjieber

Best Music Discovery Service

The Hype Machine Pandora RCRD LBL SoundCloud Bandcamp We Are Hunted Shazam

Best Performance Series

From the Basement Yours Truly La Blogotheque NPR 4AD MTV Music Group Black Cab Sessions A.V. Club Daryl Hall Beck

Favorite F**k Yeah Tumblr

F**k Yeah Crazy Britney F**k Yeah Thom Yorke F**k Yeah Nicki Minaj F**k Yeah Lady Gaga F**k Yeah KiD CuDi F**k Yeah Kanye West F**k Yeah Beyonce Knowles F**k Yeah Adam Lambert F**k Yeah Janelle Monae F**k Yeah Rihanna

Favorite Animated GIF

Justin Bieber Lady Gaga 50 Cent, Rebecca Black, and Bert 50 Cent, Bert and Kermit Katy Perry Mariah Carey Rihanna & Katy Perry Whitney Houston Nicki Minaj

Best Fan Forum

Justin Bieber Michael Jackson Phish Britney Spears Animal Collective

Best Music Hack

Marshall Jones – Highlight to Listen Jennie Lamere and Paul Lamere – Jennie’s Ultimate Road Trip Imanol Gomez, Jorge Garcia, and Vincent Akkermans –Sing’Em All Tim Soo – Invisible Instruments Mike Novack – Gigbeat

Best Animal Performance

Death Metal Rooster Parrot Dancing To Willow Smith’s Whip My Hair Sax Playing Walrus Dancing Merengue Dog Cats from Holy F**k’s “Red Lights” Parrot Sings Drowning Pool’s “Let The Bodies Hit The Floor”

Best Remix

Andre 3000 Birdman Tyler the Creator Miami Horror Hercules & Love Affair Skrillex

Best iTunes LP Gorillaz – Plastic Beach Bruce Springsteen – The Promise The Beatles – The Beatles Box Set Talib Kweli – Reflection Eternal/ Revolutions Per Minute (Deluxe Version) Pink – Greatest Hits…So Far!!! Janelle Monae – The ArchAndroid (Deluxe)

[MTV O Awards]