Skylar Grey’s Debut Album ‘Invinsible’ Arriving This Fall

Robbie Daw | June 7, 2011 11:14 am

It’s been newsworthy week for “I Need A Doctor” singer Skylar Grey so far: Sunday found her making an appearance at the MTV Movie Awards; yesterday we heard her teaser track “Dance Without You” in full (it’s now up for free download at her official site, for 48 hours); and today comes the announcement of her debut LP Invinsible. Grey has spent the past year appearing on songs by other artists, such as Dr. Dre’s “I Need A Doctor,” Lupe Fiasco’s “Words I Never Said” and Diddy-Dirty Money’s “Coming Home.” However, there will apparently only be one collaboration on Grey’s own album. The Invinsible press release notes that said collaborator and the full track list will be announced as time goes by. The first official single from the LP will be the title track.

Three tracks confirmed for the Alex Da Kid-produced LP (other than “Dance In The Dark” and “Invinsible”) include “Weirdo,” “Building A Monster” and “Final Warning.”

“I have been working so hard with Alex on this music; I’m excited it’s finally going to be out there for everyone to hear. I won’t have to describe it anymore, because the music can finally speak for itself,” says Grey in the press release. “Also, I’m very influenced by film and it is my hope that when people listen to my music, they are consumed with vast, cinematic imagery.”

In December, Alex talked to us about Grey, whose Invinsible is coming out via his own Interscope imprint KIDinaKORNER. “To me she’s an amazing artist,” he said. “She plays like nine or ten instruments. She writes amazing songs. She’s the real deal.”

Are you looking forward to a full album of material from Skylar Grey?