Chris Brown, Kanye West, Beyonce & Adele Nab Soul Train Nominations

Robbie Daw | October 21, 2011 8:01 am

Following his big wins at the recent BET Hip Hop Awards, Chris Brown has kept the momentum going by landing five nominations for the upcoming Soul Train Awards, which will air on November 27 on BET (though the event will be taped on November 17 in Atlanta). Among Breezy’s nods: Best Male R&B/Soul Artist, Album Of The Year — where he’ll face off against Kanye West, who has four nominations — and Song Of The Year, another category that Kanye is up for as well. Like West, mom-to-be Beyonce is also up for four Soul Train Awards, including Best Female R&B/Soul Artist, Record Of The Year, Best Dance Performance and Album Of The Year. Bey will face off against her former Destiny’s Child bandmate Kelly Rowland, who has three nods, in the Female R&B/Soul Artist and Dance Performance categories.

Also up for three Soul Train Awards: Adele, whose juggernaut single “Rolling In The Deep” is recognized on both the Song and Record Of The Year areas, while her top-selling LP 21 is up for Album Of The Year.

The 2011 Soul Train Awards nominations:

Best New Artist Bruno Mars Marsha Ambrosius Miguel Frank Ocean

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist Trey Songz Chris Brown Cee Lo Green R. Kelly Eric Benet Miguel

Centric Award Ledisi Raphael Saddiq Bilal Anthony David Aloe Blacc

Best Caribbean Performance “Bend Over” – Machel Montano “Man Down” – Rihanna “Delilah” – Movado “Wotless” – Kes The Band “Summertime” – Vybz Kartel

Best Gospel Performance “I Smile” – Kirk Franklin “Walking” – Mary Mary “Heaven Hear My Heart” – Trin-I-Tee 5:7 “I Believe” – James Fortune featuring Shawn McLemore “More” – Cece Winans

Album Of The Year Passion Pain & Pleasure, Trey Songz 21, Adele F.A.M.E., Chris Brown Light of the Sun, Jill Scott 4, Beyonce Watch the Throne, Jay Z & Kanye West (The Throne)

Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year “Moment for Life” – Nicki Minaj “All of the Lights” – Kanye West “Look at Me Now” – Chris Brown featuring Busta Rhymes and Lil Wayne “Out of My Head” – Lupe Fiasco “Otis” – Jay Z/Kanye West

Best Female R&B/Soul Artist Kelly Rowland Beyonce Marsha Ambrosius Jennifer Hudson Jill Scott Mary J. Blige

Song Of The Year “So In Love” – Jill Scott featuring Anthony Hamilton “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland featuring Lil Wayne “Sure Thing” – Miguel “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele “She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown “All of the Lights” – Kanye West

Record Of The Year (The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award) “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele “Far Away” – Marsha Ambrosius “Best Thing I Never Had” – Beyonce “Good Man” – Raphael Saddiq “Hold My Hand” (duet with Akon) – Michael Jackson

Best Dance Performance “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland “Only Girl (In The World)”/”What’s My Name” – Rihanna “Run the World (Girls)” – Beyonce “She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown “Walking” – Mary Mary “Pretty Girl Rock” – Keri Hilson