Ellie Goulding Unveils New Single “Burn” & Preps ‘Halcyon’ Re-Release

Sam Lansky | July 5, 2013 6:52 am

Ellie Goulding‘s solid debut Lights resulted in an exceptional re-release Bright Lights (“Animal”? “Home”? “Human”? All the best songs of her career), and it’s more than likely that the re-release of her solid sophomore LP Halcyon will do the same: The chanteuse has announced that she’s repackaging the album with 10 (!) additional songs, including a new Ryan Tedder-produced single, “Burn,” which was just unveiled. (It’s really great.)

The re-release will also feature the best bonus track from Halcyon, the Madeon-produced “Stay Awake,” as well as the recently premiered “You My Everything,” as well as several completely new tracks. No word yet on whether the new package is UK-only or if it will be receiving a global release as well.

“Burn” was originally recorded by Leona Lewis as part of her Glassheart sessions, but with Ellie’s distinctive voice, it feels trippier and more ethereal, but the commercial songcraft makes it radio candy — maybe the most mainstream single she’s had since “Lights.” Listen below.

Ellie Goulding — “Burn”

Ellie Goulding — Halcyon rerelease tracklisting 1. Don’t Say A Word 2. My Blood 3. Anything Could Happen 4. Only You 5. Halcyon 6. Figure 8 7. Joy 8. Hanging On 9. Explosions 10. I Know You Care 11. Atlantis 12. Dead In The Water 13. Calvin Harris feat. Ellie Goulding – I Need Your Love 14. Burn 15. Goodness Gracious 16. You My Everything 17. Hearts On Chains 18. Ellie Goulding & Madeon – Stay Awake 19. Got It Under Control 20. Ellie Goulding and DJ Fresh – Flashlight 21. How Long Will I Love You 22. Tessellate [Alt J cover – watch the video here] 23. Ellie Goulding x BURNS – Midas Touch