Birdy Unveils ‘Fire Within’ Tracklist And Release Date, Teases New Single “Wings”

Mike Wass | July 23, 2013 2:12 pm

Birdy generated a mountain of buzz with her eponymous debut album. The somber collection of covers showcased the teenager’s haunting voice to perfection and topped the charts around the world. For her sophomore set, moodily titled Fire Within, the now 17-year-old wrote her own material — with a little help from some of the hottest hitmakers in the business. Contributors include Ryan Tedder, Dan Wilson (the man behind Adele‘s “Someone Like You”) and Ben Lovett of Mumford & Sons fame.

“It’s been an incredible few years since I released my debut album back in 2011,” the British teen said in a statement. “I’ve been writing new songs and I’m so excited for people to hear them. They come straight from my heart.” For a taste of Birdy’s new, slightly less morose sound, check out lead single “Wings”. The focus is still very much on her glorious voice but the soaring track has a radio-friendly sheen missing from her debut. It hits iTunes (in most markets) on August 9, while the album drops September 27 (again in selected countries). See the tracklist and listen to an LP preview after the jump.

Fire Within — tracklist

1. Wings 2. Heart of Gold 3. Light Me Up 4. Words as Weapons 5. All You Never Say 6. Strange Birds 7. Maybe 8. No Angel 9. All About You 10. Standing In The Way of The Light 11. Shine

What do you make of Birdy’s new tunes? Share your thoughts in the comments below.