Neneh Cherry’s ‘Blank Project’ LP Includes A Collaboration With Robyn: See The Full Tracklist

Mike Wass | November 19, 2013 3:49 pm

Neneh Cherry will drop her fourth LP Blank Project on February 26, 2014 — a mere 18 years after the release of 1996 opus Man. It’s a testament to the Swedish-born diva’s pioneering sound and lasting cultural impact that her comeback isn’t be treated as an exercise in nostalgia. The Four-Tet-produced set is generating serious buzz and even boasts a feature from Robyn.

If the title track is any indication, Neneh has picked up right where she left off — by throwing the rule book out the window and experimenting wildly. “Blank Project” is a rambling, percussive track that admirably tackles the very adult topic of marital relationships. It’s rough and raw, yet strangely melodic and absolutely original.

While unlikely to produce a crossover radio hit like “Buffalo Stance” or “Kisses On The Wind” (Neneh doesn’t seem too concerned about wide commercial appeal), the trailblazer’s latest should still be an absolute must-hear. Check out Blank Project‘s title track and peruse the tracklist after the jump.

Blank Project tracklist:

1. Across the Water 2. Blank Project 3. Naked 4. Spit Three Times 5. Weightless 6. Cynical 7. 422 8. Out of the Black (feat. Robyn) 9. Dossier 10. Everything

Are you excited for Neneh’s new LP? Let us know in the comments below.

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.

[Via Spin].