Cyndi Lauper’s Classic ‘She’s So Unusual’ Album Set For 30th Anniversary Re-Release In April

Robbie Daw | January 22, 2014 10:04 am

So, technically, Cyndi Lauper‘s debut solo LP She’s So Unusual was released in October 1983, and this would then be the year of its 31st anniversary — but who’s counting, anyway? Sony’s Legacy Recordings division will issue She’s So Unusual: A 30th Anniversary Celebration on April 1 as a two-disc commemoration of current Grammy nominee Lauper’s classic album featuring hits like “Girls Just Want To Have Fun,” “Time After Time,” “She Bop” and “All Through The Night.” Included as bonus tracks on the first disc will be a Yolanda Be Cool remix of the LP’s first single/MTV staple “Girls Just Want To Have Fun,” plus two mixes of chart-topper “Time After Time,” by Nervo and Bent Collective.

Demos, a live recording and studio sessions make up the second disc, while Jancee Dunn, who co-wrote 2012 book Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir with the singer, penned the set’s liner notes.

Cyndi currently stands to win a Best Musical Theater Album Grammy this Sunday (January 26) for her Kinky Boots score. She picked up a Tony Award for the same musical last year. Surprisingly, Cyndi, a 15-time Grammy nominee, has only ever won for Best New Artist, in 1985.

A press release notes that the She’s So Unusual re-release will also be made available as a solo CD (with just the three remixes as bonus material) and a one-LP vinyl record.

Also included with the package: A reusable sticker set, including vinyl cut outs of Lauper’s trademark outfits and accessories “that can be arranged in different combinations on a 3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in her iconic ‘Girls Just Want To Have Fun” music video’.”

She’s So Unusual: A 30th Anniversary Celebration (DELUXE EDITION)

Disc One:
1. Money Changes Everything
2. Girls Just Want To Have Fun
3. When You Were Mine
4. Time After Time
5. She Bop
6. All Through The Night
7. Witness
8. I’ll Kiss You
9. He’s So Unusual
10. Yeah Yeah

Bonus Tracks:
1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix)
2. Time After Time (2013 Nervo Remix)
3. Time After Time (2013 Bent Collective Remix)

Disc 2
1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun 3:31 (Early Guitar Demo)
2. All Through The Night 5:21 (1982 rehearsal, with studio dialog)
3. Rules And Regulations 2:39 (1982 Rehearsal)
4. Money Changes Everything 5:06 (Demo)
5. Girls Just Want To Have Fun 3:21 (Demo)
6. Right Train, Wrong Track (Non LP B-Side) 4:40
7. Witness 3:40 (Live, Boston, 1984)
8. She Bop (1983 Arthur Baker Remix)
9. Time After Time 4:01 (Work In Progress Rough Mix)

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.