One Direction Announce New Album ‘Four’, Release New Song “Fireproof”: Listen

Bradley Stern | September 8, 2014 6:16 am

Prepare for a full-blown global Directioner meltdown.

The One Direction lads have sent their fans into a tizzy with one massive announcement this morning: Their upcoming fourth studio album will be released on November 17 — and it’s called FOUR. (You know, like Beyoncé‘s 2011 record. What will the BeyHive think?!)

And it just keeps getting better: Ahead of the release of the new record, which is available to pre-order right now, the band have released a free track for 24 hours called “Fireproof.”. The song was written by 1D’s own Louis Tomlinson and Liam Payne, plus John Ryan, Jamie Scott and Julian Bunetta.

Check out the full standard and deluxe album covers after the jump, as well as their new song, “Fireproof.”

The brand new track is a subtle shift away from the crunchier pop sound of their early global hits like “What Makes You Beautiful,” as well as their folkier third effort Midnight Memories, this time gliding across gentle Beach Boys-esque guitars and sweet harmonies. “Nobody knows you baby the way I do,” the boys coo.

It’s certainly a pleasant and promising start of a new era — now just keep breathing slowly into that brown paper bag, Directioners.

What do you think of 1D’s new sound? Let us know in the comments below.

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.