Simple Minds ‘Big Music’: Idolator Album Premiere

Robbie Daw | October 28, 2014 8:11 am

Simple Minds‘ bountiful discography is lined with 15 studio albums and an array of hits like “Promised You A Miracle,” “Alive And Kicking,” “Sanctify Yourself,” “See The Lights” and, of course, the Breakfast Club soundtrack classic “Don’t You (Forget About Me)”. Now in their 37th year, the Jim Kerr-fronted band will release their 16th album Big Music next week (on November 4), and today Idolator is premiering a stream of all 12 tracks.

The album is a mix of attention-grabbing melodies, guitar- and synth-filled instrumentation, irresistible choruses and Kerr’s familiar crooning — in other words, Big Music comes packed with all the proper Simple Minds hallmarks.

Head below to listen to Simple Minds’ new album Big Music a week ahead of its release.

Along for the collaborative process: co-writer Iain Cook of fellow Glasgow band Chvrches, as well as producers Steve Osborne (U2, Vanessa Carlton), Andy Wright (Eurythmics, Simply Red) and Steve Hillage (Simple Minds’ 1981 double-album Sons And Fascination/Sister Feelings Call).

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.