Joey Bada$$’s ‘B4.DA.$$.’: See The Cover Art, Tracklist & Release Date For His Debut Album

Robbie Daw | December 9, 2014 8:35 am
Readers’ Poll: Vote For 2014’s Top Albums
What was your favorite album of the year? Vote & let us know!

Bobby Shmurda isn’t the only young Brooklyn MC on the verge of busting into the bigtime. Following a pair of mixtape releases and a feature on Kiesza‘s hypnotic Sound Of A Woman album track “Bad Thing,” the rapper, born Jo-Vaughn Virginie Scott, is set to release his debut LP B4.DA.$$ on January 20, 2015, a date that also happens to be his 20th birthday.

Producers who worked on the album include Hit Boy, Kirk Knight, Statik Selekta and The Roots. Synth duo ASTR also teamed up with Chuck Strangers to produce the bonus track “Teach Me,” a song that finds Kiesza returning the favor to Joey with a vocal feature.

Earlier in the fall, Kiesza talked to Idolator about pairing up with the rapper and recording their collaborations:

We reached out to him months before we ended up working together and he missed the email. So we were like, “Maybe he’s not into it.” Then literally the week we were supposed to turn the album in, he tweets me, “Oh my gosh — I’m such a big fan. I’d love to collaborate.” I sent him a direct message, “Joey, I emailed you three months ago!” He went and checked and was like, “Dammit, I missed the email.” He came by two days later and we did up “Bad Thing.”

Also featured on the album is Irish singer-rapper Maverick Sabre, who recently appeared on Gorgon City‘s debut LP Sirens, and Action Bronson and Elle Varner, who guest on bonus track “Run Up On.”

B4.DA.$$ will be released via Cinematic Music Group / Pro Era. Catch the full tracklist below.

1. Save The Children (prod by Statik Selektah)
2. Greenbax Introlude (prod by Lee Bannon)
3. Paper Trail$ (prod. by Dj Premier)
4. Piece of Mind (prod by Freddie Joachim)
5. Big Dusty (prod by Kirk Knight)
6. Hazeus View (prod. by Kirk Knight)
7. Like Me feat. BJ The Chicago Kid (prod. by J Dilla & The Roots)
8. Belly of the Beast feat. Chronixx (prod by Hit Boy)
9. No. 99 (prod. by Statik Selektah)
10. Christ Conscious (prod. by Basquiat)
11. On and On feat. Maverick Sabre & Dyemond Lewis (prod by Freddie Joachim)
12. Escape 120 feat. Raury (prod. by Chuck Strangers)
13. Black Beetles (prod by Chuck Strangers)
14. O.C.B. (prod. by Sam I AM w/ instrumentation by The Soul Rebels)
15. Curry Chicken (prod. by Statik Selektah)
16. BONUS: Run Up On feat. Action Bronson & Elle Varner (prod. by Statik Selektah)
17. BONUS: Teach Me feat. Kiesza (prod by ASTR & Chuck Strangers)

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.