Florence + The Machine Announce The Tracklist Of ‘How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful’

Mike Wass | February 12, 2015 2:04 pm
Florence + The Machine's NSFW Video
Florence Welch lays herself bare (literally) in her band's "What Kind Of Man" video.

It’s been a big day for Florence + The Machine fans! Having previously teased the somewhat-obtuse title track of third LP How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful (due June 2), the band premiered official lead single “What Kind Of Man” as well as its confronting, NSFW video today (February 12). Flo and friends now share the album’s full tracklist and shed a little light on the opus.

For starters, we now know a little bit more about the contributors. How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful was produced by Markus Dravs and features songwriting credits from Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon and John Hill. “Markus has done a few Arcade Fire albums and he’s done Bjork’s Homogenic, which is a huge record for me,” Florence said in a press release. “And I felt he had that balance of organic and electronic capabilities, managing those two worlds. And, you know, he’s good with big sounds. And I like big sounds.

However, she simultaneously strived for an intimate sound. “I wanted to make something that was big but that had a gentleness to it,” the 28-year-old explains. “That had a warmth, that was rooted. I think that’s why we went back more to the live instruments. Something that was band-led almost.” Florence + The Machine’s third LP drops June 2. You can see the full tracklist below.

Florence + The Machine’s How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful tracklist:

1. Ship To Wreck
2. What Kind Of Man
3. How Big How Blue How Beautiful
4. Queen Of Peace
5. Various Storms & Saints
6. Delilah
7. Long & Lost
8. Caught
9. Third Eye
10. St Jude
11. Mother

Are you excited to hear the band’s third LP? Let us know in the comments below.

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.