Cyndi Lauper, Linda Perry Set For 2015 Songwriters Hall Of Fame Induction

Robbie Daw | February 18, 2015 9:57 am

Grammy, Emmy and Tony winner Cyndi Lauper is the singer of such classic pop hits as “Girls Just Want To Have Fun,” “Time After Time,” “All Through The Night” and “True Colors,” not to mention the musician behind the show tunes in current Broadway smash Kinky Boots. And this summer she’ll have another milestone achievement to note on her already impressive resume: She’s being inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame.

Cyndi, along with Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, the Grateful Dead‘s Robert Hunter and Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith and Linda Perry, will be inducted during the Songwriters Hall Of Fame’s 46th annual awards dinner on June 18 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Manhattan.

As for Linda Perry, in addition to penning her onetime band 4 Non Blondes‘ early ’90s alt rock staple “What’s Up?”, the 49-year-old musician wrote and produced Pink‘s “Get The Party Started” and Christina Aguilera‘s Grammy-winning single “Beautiful,” co-wrote Gwen Stefani’s Grammy-nominated debut solo single “What You Waiting For?” and signed James Blunt to her Custard Records label in 2003, which ultimately resulted in him topping both the UK and US charts with his breakthrough hit “You’re Beautiful.”

“Our 2015 lineup of inductees represents the rich diversity of American musical styles – Rock, Country, Blues and Pop – that have captivated the world over the past six decades,” Songwriters Hall Of Fame President and CEO Linda Moran noted in a press release for the upcoming event. “Each one of these brilliant music creators have written instantly recognizable classics, songs that are both of their time and timeless. Our Annual Awards Gala is sure to be unforgettable.”

The press release points out that additional award honorees will be announced soon.

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.