Natalie Imbruglia’s Cover Of Daft Punk’s “Instant Crush”: Listen (And See Her ‘Male’ Tracklist)

Robbie Daw | March 13, 2015 7:33 am

Following news that Natalia Imbruglia is releasing an album of covers of songs by male artists — simply titled Male (out July 28 in Australia) — the first single is now online for your listening pleasure.

Here Imbruglia takes on Daft Punk‘s 2013 Random Access Memories cut “Instant Crush,” originally voiced by Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, and reworks it into a slightly more garage band-sounding pop-rock jam.

Also revealed is the tracklist of cover versions that will appear on Male. Hat-tip to Stereogum.

Tracklist: 01 “Instant Crush” (Daft Punk) 02 “Cannonball” (Damian Rice) 03 “The Summer” (Josh Pike) 04 “I’ll Follow You Into The Dark” (Death Cab For Cutie) 05 “Goodbye in His Eyes” (Zac Brown Band) 06 “Friday I’m in Love” (The Cure) 07 “Naked as We Came” (Iron & Wine) 08 “Let My Love Open the Door” (Pete Townshend) 09 “Only Love Can Break Your Heart” (Neil Young) 10 “I Melt With You” (Modern English) 11 “The Waiting” (Tom Petty) 12 “The Wind” (Cat Stevens)

“Instant Crush” will officially be released as a single in April.

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.