Oops! Earl Sweatshirt’s “Surprise” Album Announced By Label A Week Early

Robbie Daw | March 17, 2015 8:01 am
Earl Sweatshirt Vs. Taylor Swift
Taylor Swift is the latest pop star to incur the wrath of Black Twitter.

(Not-so-)Surprise! Earl Sweatshirt, definitely not a Taylor Swift fan, is dropping a new album next week on Monday (March 23). The only problem: It appears as if the Odd Future rapper wanted that info kept under wraps until the LP actually arrived.

A press release went out this morning announcing the following:

“Earl Sweatshirt is back to surprise fans with the announcement of his new record I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside. Fans don’t need to wait long because the album will be released digitally on March 23 and will see physical releases on CD and vinyl soon after.”

A pre-order was even set up for Sweatshirt’s sophomore album. Maybe this wasn’t the route 21-year-old Earl (real name: Thebe Neruda Kgositsile) wanted to go, however.

“I WOULD LIKE TO PERSONALLY THANK @SonyMusicGlobal 4 FUCKING UP THE ROLL OUT PROCESS OF MY SHIT. SOMEONE GOTS 2 PAY 4 THEIR MISTAKES,” the MC tweeted overnight. Below is the full round of tweets he fired off:

At any rate, below is the video for I Don’t Like Shit song “Grief,” and the album’s full tracklist.

1. Huey
2. Mantra
3. Faucet
4. Grief
5. Off Top
6. Grown Ups (feat. Da$H)
7. AM // Radio (feat. Wiki)
8. Inside
9. DNA (feat. Na-kel)
10. Wool (feat.Vince Staples)

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.