David Duchovny (Yes, Fox Mulder!) To Release Debut Album ‘Hell Or Highwater’ In May

Robbie Daw | March 31, 2015 11:18 am
John Carpenter: The Idolator Interview
The horror master talks to us about spooky, cinematic album, 'Lost Themes'.

Wait, you mean there was actually a decent pop-rock singing voice underneath all the alien conspiracy theories Fox Mulder spouted off for nine (okay — eightish) seasons of The X-Files?

David Duchovny, the 54-year-old actor who also starred in seven seasons of Californication, will release his debut solo album on May 12 via ThinkSay Records. Titled Hell Or Highwater, the LP “will include 12 self-penned tracks, firmly embedded in his uniquely lyrical, troubadour style,” notes a press release. The title track was released as a lead single today on iTunes.

And here you thought the least obvious album release of 2015 was going come from John Carpenter! So, enough of the jibber jabber already — check out some of Mulder’s music:

Guess we should point out that Duchovny is becoming a king of all media of sorts, as he also released his first novel, Holy Cow, last month.

Hell Or Highwater tracklist
1. Let it Rain
2. 3000
3. Stars
4. Hell or Highwater
5. The Things
6. The Rain Song
7. Unsaid Undone
8. Lately it’s Always December
9. Another Year
10. Passenger
11. When The Time Comes
12. Positively Madison Avenue

Get an eyeful of even more pop music coverage, from artist interviews to exclusive performances, on Idolator’s YouTube channel.