La Toya Jackson To Release CD Single Of 28-Year-Old Track In September: Here Comes “Trouble”!

Mike Wass | August 27, 2015 6:50 pm

Ever the innovator, La Toya Jackson is dropping remixes of a track recorded 28 years ago in September! Originally intended for the diva’s fifth LP La Toya (you know, the one with hip-hop classic “You’re Gonna Get Rocked!” and catchy anti-drugs anthem “Just Say No”), “Trouble” missed the cut and was ultimately given to Nia Peeples by producer Steve Harvey. As fate would have it, Toy Toy’s trash turned out to be her rival’s treasure and the song became a top 40 hit.

But don’t cry for the thinking man’s Jackson just yet. La Toya’s version is being rescued from the footnotes of pop history with the release of a random remix package featuring overhauls from Jared Jones, Matt Pop and Ranny. There’s even a bonus mega-mix of La Toya album tracks if you buy the CD single! I have no idea why any of this is happening, but I’m glad it is. The 59-year-old maintains a strong cult following — most recently releasing “Feels Like Love” and high-camp RuPaul collaboration “Feels Like Dancin'” in 2014.

La Toya Jackson’s Trouble remix CD tracklist:

1. Trouble (Jared Jones Radio Mix) 2. Trouble (Matt Pop Radio Mix) 3. Trouble (Ranny’s Big Room Edit) 4. Trouble (Sweet Team Radio Edit) 5. Trouble (Jared Jones Club Mix) 6. Trouble (Matt Pop Club Mix) 7. Trouble (Ranny’s Big Room Mix) 8. Trouble (Sweet Team Mix) 9. Trouble (Dr. Brooks Future RetroFunk) 10. Trouble (Argonaut Remix) 11. You’re Gonna Get Rocked! Again

Order Toy’s new CD single via VibeOn Records or pre-order your copy from iTunes. I’ve done both!

Listen to the original version of “Trouble”:

Are you adding this CD to your collection? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!