Grimes Is Back With Super Poppy “Flesh Without Blood” Video & ‘Art Angels’ Tracklist

Carl Williott | October 26, 2015 4:19 pm

UPDATE: The Art Angels tracklist is now out and features 15 songs, including “Realiti” and a collab with Janelle Monáe. Check it out at the bottom of the post.

Lana Del Rey tourmate and almost-Rihanna collaborator Grimes returns with the first single off her long-awaited new album Art Angels. Today (October 26) she released the video for “Flesh Without Blood/Life In The Vivid Dream,” and while it’s got Grimes’ swirls of vocal echoes and processing and loopy electronics, it’s all been toned down for what is primarily a guitar-driven power pop song — a pretty big shift for her.

This is leagues away from the molly-pop of “Go,” but it indicates that Grimes is still very interested in proving that she can deploy radio-ready hooks without sounding like an anonymous pop bot. Not that she has to worry about blending in with pop’s center with visuals like this. The self-directed clip shows her playing a variety of roles in outlandish costumes, including a murderous angel.

“Flesh Without Blood/Life In The Vivid Dream” is off Art Angels, which is out November 6. Watch the new video below.

Grimes’ Art Angels tracklist: 1. laughing and not being normal 2. California 3. SCREAM ft. Aristophanes 4. Flesh without Blood 5. Belly of the Beat 6. Kill V. Maim 7. Artangels 8. Easily 9. Pin 10. Realiti^ 11. World Princess part II 12. Venus Fly ft. Janelle Monáe 13. Life in the Vivid Dream 14. Butterfly 15. Realiti (Demo)*

^=CD and digital only *=digital only