Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley Announces ‘The Driver’ Solo Album Details, Tracklist

Robbie Daw | January 8, 2016 2:39 pm

Lady Antebellum‘s 2015 performance with Zedd at the CMT Awards and hit collaboration with DJ/producer Audien, “Something Better,” signaled that the band were itching to try out new sounds. And sure enough, following the Grammy-winning trio‘s announcement of a hiatus comes news of Lady A member Charles Kelley‘s upcoming solo album, The Driver.

The LP is due out February 5, and Kelley describes the nine songs included to The Boot as “maybe a little bit more like California country. It’s not very pop; a little more Eagles. I don’t know the right word … Even the lyrical content is a little dark.”

Along for the ride, as far as features go, is the legendary Stevie Nicks (on the Tom Petty cover “Southern Accents”), plus Dierks Bentley and Eric Paslay on the album’s title track and Miranda Lambert on “I Wish You Were Here.” (You may recall that Nicks previously joined up with Lady Antebellum for a re-recording of “Golden” two years ago.)

Also due out in February: Kelley and his wife Cassie‘s baby. It’s going to be a busy month.

The Driver tracklist

1. “Your Love” 2. “The Driver” (featuring Dierks Bentley and Eric Paslay) 3. “Dancing Around It” 4. “Southern Accents” (featuring Stevie Nicks) 5. “Lonely Girl” 6. “The Only One Who Gets Me” 7. “Round in Circles” 8. “I Wish You Were Here” (featuring Miranda Lambert) 9. “Leaving Nashville”
Are you here for a Charles Kelley solo album? Let us know your thoughts below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!