Cyndi Lauper’s Country Album ‘Detour’ Out In May, Features Willie Nelson, Jewel & Others: See Tracklist

Robbie Daw | January 28, 2016 12:51 pm

As mentioned when Cyndi Lauper released her version of Dolly Parton classic “Hard Candy Christmas” at the holidays, beloved pop diva Lauper has been busying herself with recording country album Detour for her 11th studio release. The album now has cover art (see above) and a release date of May 6 through Sire Records, and included are cover versions of country classics from several different decades. Cyndi lassoed such vets of the genre as Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss, Vince Gill and even Jewel for features.

We’re not only more than ready to hear Cyndi’s rendition of Pasty Cline classic “I Fall To Pieces,” we’ve also got eyebrows firmly arched over the inclusion of onetime Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty b-side duet “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly.”

Catch the 12-song tracklist for Cyndi’s Detour below.

1. “Funnel Of Love” 2. “Detour” (Featuring Emmylou Harris) 3. “Misty Blue” 4. “Walkin’ After Midnight” 5. “Heartaches By The Number” 6. “The End Of The World” 7. “Night Life” – Featuring Willie Nelson 8. “Begging To You” 9. “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” (Featuring Vince Gill) 10. “I Fall To Pieces” 11. “I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart” (Featuring Jewel) 12. “Hard Candy Christmas” (Featuring Alison Krauss)

Are you here for Cyndi’s foray into country music? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!