Dami Im Will Represent Australia At Eurovision With Soaring Ballad “Sound Of Silence”

Mike Wass | March 10, 2016 8:13 pm
Dami Im's 'Heart Beats' Cover & Tracklist
Australian pop diva Dami Im reveals the cover and tracklist of debut LP 'Heart Beats.'

Australia was randomly (at least from a geographic perspective) asked to participate in Eurovision last year, and selected “Like A Drum” hitmaker Guy Sebastian as their representative. His entry, “Tonight Again,” exceeded expectations by placing fifth — well enough for the country to nab another invitation. And the Aussies have a real shot of winning this year courtesy of Dami Im’s soaring ballad “Sound Of Silence.”

The handiwork of DNA, “Sound Of Silence” ticks all the boxes for a Eurovision entry. It’s a little over-the-top, has a universal theme (loneliness) and boasts the kind of chorus that lodges in your brain and refuses to leave. The track also allows 2013 X Factor winner Dami to show off the full range of her powerful pipes. Fingers crossed this gives her enough momentum to release a follow-up to underrated debut LP Heart Beats.

Does this have a chance at winning? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!