Roisin Murphy’s ‘Take Her Up To Monto’ Album Announced: Listen To “Mastermind”

Robbie Daw | April 21, 2016 12:55 pm

Roisin Murphy continues to confound those hoping for a return to the traditional pop sound of Overpowered, the Irish singer’s 2007 sophomore album. That said, her new, six-minute electro track “Mastermind” is at least a bit more in the “maybe you’d hear this on, like, college radio” vein than, say, anything off last year’s Hairless Toys LP.

The song is from Murphy’s upcoming Take Her Up To Monto LP, which is due out July 8 from PIAS. The album will feature the production work of Eddie Stevens, a longtime collaborator of Roisin’s since her Moloko days.

Give “Mastermind” a listen — and catch the Take Her Up To Monto tracklist — below.

Take Her Up To Monto

1. Mastermind 2. Pretty Gardens 3. Thoughts Wasted 4. Lip Service 5. Ten Miles High 6. Whatever 7. Romantic Comedy 8. Nervous Sleep 9. Sitting and Counting

Are you looking forward to new music from Roisin? Let us know your below, or by hitting us up on Twitter and Facebook.