Billie Marten Unveils ‘Writing Of Blues And Yellows’ Cover & Tracklist

Mike Wass | July 28, 2016 5:22 pm

Billie Marten came to international attention earlier this year when she was shortlisted for the prestigious BBC Sounds Of poll. (To put things into perspective, previous winners include Adele and Sam Smith). The 17-year-old capitalized on that buzz by releasing an ethereal ballad called “Milk & Honey” in April and followed it up with another gem called “La Lune” in June. She now unveils the cover and tracklist of her debut LP, Writing Of Blues And Yellows (due September 23).

The painted cover art sets the tone for the Brit’s collection of whimsical, timeless tunes with its faded, vintage look. Like Billie’s music, it couldn’t be less on-trend or modern. Which is why it stands out. The teenager’s recent releases make the cut as well as new single “Lionhearted” (out tomorrow) and a couple of old favorites (“Bird” and “Heavy Weather”). See the full tracklist below.

Billie Marten’s Writing Of Blues And Yellows tracklist:

1. La Lune 2. Bird 3. Lionhearted 4. Emily 5. Milk & Honey 6. Green 7. Heavy Weather 8. Unaware 9. Hello Sunshine 10. Live 11. Teeth 12. Untitled 13. It’s a Fine Day

Deluxe Version

1. Green (Demo) 2. La Lune (BBC Live Version) [Lauren Laverne Session] 3. Out of the Black 4. Hand Over Hand (Demo) 5. Milk & Honey (Alt Version)

Are you excited for the album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!