Christina Aguilera & Zayn Have New Songs On ‘The Get Down’ Soundtrack

Mike Wass | August 4, 2016 9:58 pm
Pop Perspective: Christina Aguilera's "Change"
Our editors rate and review Christina Aguilera's tribute to the Orlando shooting victims.

From Romeo + Juliet (The Cardigans’ “Lovefool”) to The Great Gatsby (Lana Del Rey’s “Young And Beautiful”), a killer soundtrack is part of the Baz Luhrmann experience. The Australian director isn’t about to give up the habit of a lifetime on new Netflix series The Get Down. Set in The Bronx in the late ’70s, the show chronicles the death of disco and the rise of hip-hop. Which explains the eclectic group of artists contributing new material to the project.

It looks like Christina Aguilera goes disco on “Telepathy” — a collaboration with Chic legend Nile Rodgers. Meanwhile Zayn Malik teams up with Teddy Pendergrass and Grandmaster Flash on “You Can’t Hide” and Grace goes it alone on “Just You, Not Now (Love Theme).” Other artists involved include Miguel, Jaden Smith, Raury, Michael Kiwanuka and Janelle Monae. See the full tracklist below.

The Get Down soundtrack tracklist:

1. Jaden Smith – Welcome to the Get Down
2. Michael Kiwanuka – Rule the World (I Came From the City) [feat. Nasir Jones as Mr. Books]
3. Miguel – Cadillac
4. Raury & Jaden Smith – Losing Your Mind
5. ZAYN, Teddy Pendergrass & Grandmaster Flash – You Can’t Hide/You Can’t Hide From Yourself (Touch of Class GMF Remix)
6. Michael Kiwanuka – Black Man in a White World (Ghetto Gettysburg Address) [feat. Nasir Jones as Mr. Books]
7. Malay & 6LACK – Shaolin’s Theme / Pray
8. Leon Bridges – Ball of Confusion
9. Lyn Collins – Think (About It)
10. The Fatback Band & With – Are You Ready? (Do the Bus Stop) / Suga [feat. Sarrah Ruba]
11. Christina Aguilera – Telepathy (feat. Nile Rodgers)
12. Donna Summer – Bad Girls
13. Janelle Monáe – Hum Along & Dance (Gotta Get Down)
14. C.J. & Co. – Devin’s Gun
15. Garland Jeffreys – Wild In the Streets
16. Héctor Lavoe – Que Lio
17. Grace – Just You, Not Now (Love Theme)
18. Justice Smith – This Ain’t No Fairy Tale
19. Herizen Guardiola – Be That As It May
20. The Get Down Brothers – Get Down Brothers vs. Notorious 3
21. Kamasi Washington – Kipling Theme
22. Herizen Guardiola – Set Me Free (feat. Nile Rodgers)
23. Herizen Guardiola – Up the Ladder
24. Justice Smith as Ezekiel Figuero – Zeke’s Poem (I Am the One)

Are you excited for Xtina’s new song? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!