Bette Midler Presents Deluxe Edition Of ‘The Divine Miss M’ With New Songs

Mike Wass | September 9, 2016 6:45 pm

Lady Gaga isn’t the only gay icon with something to promote today (September 9)! Bette Midler revealed that she’s releasing a special edition of her debut LP. “I’m thrilled to announce a deluxe remastered and expanded edition of THE DIVINE MISS M will be available on October 21!” the 70-year-old wrote on Facebook. “The 2CD album includes remastered audio, plus a bonus disc of singles, and previously unreleased demos.” This is a rare example of a reissue that has been lovingly put together.

What’s new for collectors? Single edits of signature songs “Do You Want To Dance?,” “Chapel Of Love,” “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” and “Friends” as well as an alternative version of “Superstar.” There are also early cuts of “Old Cape Cod” and “Marahuana” (tracks that eventually were released on 1976 album Songs For The New Depression) and a pair of new demos. If you’re looking for a place to dive into Bette’s discography, this is it. Pre-order the album on iTunes or get a CD from Amazon. Now, how about some new music?

Bette Midler’s The Divine Miss M (Deluxe) tracklist:

Disc 1 1. Do You Want To Dance? 2. Chapel Of Love 3. Superstar 4. Daytime Hustler 5. Am I Blue 6. Friends (Session 1) 7. Hello In There 8. Leader Of The Pack 9. Delta Dawn 10. Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy 11. Friends (Session 2)

Disc 2 1. Chapel Of Love (The Single Mix) [Remastered] 2. Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy (The Single Version) [Remastered] 3. Do You Want To Dance? (The Single Mix) [Remastered] 4. Friends (The Single Mix) [Remastered] 5. Old Cape Cod (Early Version) 6. Marahuana (Early Version) 7. Superstar (Alternate Version) 8. Saturday Night (Demo) 9. Mr. Freedom And I (Demo)

Here’s Bette performing “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” in 1973:

Are you buying the reissue? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!