idolator

Remix Queen: Beyonce Signs On For A “Perfect” Remix With Ed Sheeran

Ed Sheeran is aiming to transform his tender ballad “Perfect” into a massive hit. After announcing the single back in September, he waited until earlier this month to unleash an accompanying music video. The move propelled the track to a new peak in the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100. But the Brit has even loftier ambitions and is hoping Beyonce can help him make his dreams a reality.

Today (November 30), he revealed that he has tapped the Lemonade hitmaker for a remix of the track, and it is dropping later this evening. He also shared a new single cover that includes Bey’s name over a snowy background. The move ties things together with the existing music video and relates back to how the song could become one of this winter’s defining releases.

If he plays his cards right, “Perfect” may become more successful than 2014’s “Thinking Out Loud.” The ballad just missed the top spot on the Billboard Hot 100 and racked up massive streaming success. Will Ed have a new signature ballad on his hands? The latest news seems to imply that’s what he is aiming for.

Teaming up with Bey is an interesting move but not totally unprecedented. The pair did perform together at the 2015 Grammys. They rekindled their onstage magic with an acoustic rendition of “Drunk In Love” at the Global Citizen Festival later that year.

The “Formation” diva has also been keeping busy between solo projects. She made history on the charts this fall when she hopped on a remix of J Balvin and Willy William’s “Mi Gente” and delivered the chorus on Eminem’s new single “Walk on Water.” Check out Ed’s official announcement below!

Got Beyoncé to duet with me on Perfect, comes out today at 7pm ET / 4pm PT / midnight GMT x

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos) on

Will this be a hit? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!