Samantha Jade Covers Cher, Diana Ross & ABBA On New Disco LP

Mike Wass | February 22, 2018 6:54 pm
Samantha Jade Interview
We talk to Sam about her comeback, working with Max Martin and Jive Records.

Samantha Jade has certainly had an interesting career. Discovered as a teenager, the Aussie pop star was signed to Jive Records and moved to LA. She landed a minor hit with the theme song to “Step Up” in 2006 and recorded an unreleased album with Max Martin, but things didn’t quite work out. She returned to Perth and worked in her father’s factory until deciding to give it another go and promptly won X Factor Australia in 2012. That resulted in a number one single, “What You’ve Done To Me,” and a collaboration with Pitbull.

Given Sam’s unique journey, it shouldn’t been too surprising that she’s going out on a limb again by recording an album of disco covers. The 30-year-old tackles Cher’s “Take Me Home,” Diana Ross’ “Upside Down” and ABBA’s “Dancing Queen” as well as The Emotions’ “Best Of My Love,” which is the title track and lead single. There are also a couple of originals. The “Firestarter” singer puts her own spin on the genre with “Roller Skates” (produced by Knoxa) and “Let Me Love You,” an ode to marriage equality penned by frequent collaborators DNA.

Best Of My Love was such a fun record to make,” Samantha says in a press release. “I hope it reignites the passion for all disco lovers and helps tell the story of this exciting genre to a whole new audience that may not have experienced the lifestyle first-hand. It’s such an honor to pay tribute to some of the most iconic divas such as Donna Summer, Cher and Diana Ross. I’ve always been inspired by disco, soul funk and dance, particularly the female voices that emerged during this time.”

The album drops April 20. You can pre-order an autographed collector’s edition packaged within a vinyl sleeve here. Listen to Sam’s version of “Best Of My Love” below.

Samantha Jade’s Best Of My Love tracklist:

  1. Best Of My Love
  2. Never Can Say Goodbye
  3. Upside Down
  4. Dancing Queen
  5. How Deep Is Your Love
  6. I’m Coming Out
  7. I Feel Love
  8. Take Me Home
  9. Hot Stuff
  10. We Are Family
  11. I Will Survive
  12. Roller Skates
  13. Let Me Love You
  14. Best Of My Love (2018 Mix)

Are you excited for Sam’s disco LP? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!