James Bay Announces ‘Electric Light’ LP, Drops Buzz Track “Pink Lemonade”

Mike Wass | March 8, 2018 5:30 am
James Bay's 'Wild Love' Video
Natalia Dyer of 'Stranger Things' stars in James Bay's 'Wild Love' video.

James Bay reinvented himself on “Wild Love,” eschewing the stripped-back approach of his debut album in favor of a soulful, synth-driven sound. It looks like that was just the tip of the iceberg. The Brit announced his sophomore LP, Electric Light, today (March 7) and it represents a whole new chapter. “If I had to describe my first album visually it would probably be a flame – while this new album is about a real sonic and artistic evolution for me,” he explains. “The feeling of a 100 watt bulb expanding and brightening is what I envisioned. Electric Light came to my mind and I knew it was perfect.”

The 27-year-old also shared a buzz track called “Pink Lemonade.” With its driving guitars and rock swagger, the catchy song is something of bridge between the old and new. (It’s certainly more recognizable as a James Bay track than “Wild Love”). It’s always risky to fiddle with a winning formula, but fans seem more than willing to go along for the adventure. The album’s lead single has already racked up 10 million streams, while his North American tour is largely sold out. See the tracklist of Electric Light (due May 18) and listen to his latest tune below.

James Bay’s Electric Light tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Wasted On Each Other
3. Pink Lemonade
4. Wild Love
5. Us
6. In My Head
7. Interlude
8. Just For Tonight
9. Wanderlust
10. I Found You
11. Sugar Drunk High
12. Stand Up
13. Fade Out
14. Slide

Are you excited for James’ new album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!