Lykke Li Announces New LP ‘So Sad So Sexy,’ Drops Two New Songs

Mike Wass | April 19, 2018 2:46 am
Lana Del Rey, Lykke Li & Mezcal
Liquor lovers! Lana Del Rey attended Lykke Li's Yola Mezcal tasting.

And she’s back! Lykke Li surprised fans last night (April 18) by announcing her fourth LP, so sad so sexy. The 10-song album drops June 8 via RCA Records and is the Swedish iconoclast’s first offering since 2014’s I Never Learn. (That is apart from a handful of songs released with her liv side-project). The mezcal mogul also shared two tracks from the project — “Hard Rain” and “Deep End.” The former was produced by Rostam Batmanglij, while the latter is the handiwork of Jeff Bhasker.

As expected, they are both poetic, multi-layered anthems that exist in the shadowlands between pop and indie. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but if pressed, I would probably opt for “Deep End.” That’s the more accessible option and it vaguely reminds me of Nelly Furtado circa Whoa, Nelly! — only darker and more mysterious. You can check out both tracks below as well as the suitably emo cover art and tracklist. If you’re as obsessed as I am, you can pre-order the album here.

The album cover:

Lykke’s so sad so sexy tracklist:

01 hard rain

02 deep end

03 two nights [ft. Aminé]

04 last piece

05 jaguars in the air

06 sex money feelings die

07 so sad so sexy

08 better alone

09 bad woman

10 utopia

“Hard Rain”:

“Deep End”:

Are you excited for Lykke’s new album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!