Christina Aguilera Launches ‘Liberation’ Era With “Accelerate”

Mike Nied | May 3, 2018 8:43 am

Christina Aguilera is ready to reclaim her throne! The pop icon officially kickstarted the Liberation era with the release of her 2 Chainz and Ty Dolla $ign-assisted new single, “Accelerate.” After teasing fans with promotional footage that confirmed her imminent comeback during a performance over the weekend, Xtina spent the remainder of the week raising anticipation. Today (May 3), she rolled out the sexy anthem, doused herself in glitter for the accompanying video and announced that her LP would be released June 15. It has been nearly six years since she last rolled out an album, and today’s release confirms it was worth the wait.

“Accelerate, c’mon babe. Pick up your speed. Stamina, fill me up. That’s what I need,” she urges over the growling bass and driving beat. Ty hypes up Xtina throughout the track and 2 Chainz drops a searing verse of his own, but the “Genie In A Bottle” siren remains in charge. Her voice sounds as strong as ever, and the production is guaranteed to be right at home on radio and in the depths of the club. According to Genius, the song was produced by Mike Dean, Kanye West and Che Pope. The accompanying video is essentially a glam roll. Comprised of footage from the various teasers we have seen this week, it is a memorable and dazzling return.

Boasting such a fierce beat, the Lotus icon should have no problem reclaiming a spot near the upper reaches of the charts with “Accelerate.” Liberation is available for pre-order here. The album’s tracklist includes a heavily teased feature with Demi Lovato called “Fall In Line” and another with Keida and Shenseea on “Right Moves,” but the remainder of it is all Christina. Watch the video and check out the tracklist below.

Liberation Tracklist

1. “Liberation”

2. “Searching For Maria”

3. “Maria”

4. “Sick Of Sittin’”

5. “Dreamers”

6. “Fall In Line” feat. Demi Lovato

7. “Right Moves” feat. Keida and Shenseea

8. “Like I Do”

9. “Deserve”

10. “Twice”

11. “I Don’t Need It Anymore” (Interlude)

12. “Accelerate” f. Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz

13. “Pipe”

14. “Masochist”

15. “Unless It’s With You”

The song:

The cover:

Do you love the song? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!