Cher Reveals The (Amazing) Cover & Release Date Of ‘Dancing Queen’

Mike Wass | August 9, 2018 12:28 pm
Cher Covers 'Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!'
The pop icon returns with a cover of ABBA's 1979 disco classic.

2018 has been a generally miserable experience pop-wise with most of our favorite divas missing the mark, but Cher is back to make it all better. Earlier this morning (August 9), the pop icon dropped her version of “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)” as the first single from her album of ABBA covers and it’s every bit as camp and divinely ridiculous as you would expect. She now ups the ante by unveiling the album’s artwork — of course, it’s called Dancing Queen — and September 28 release date.

“I’ve always liked ABBA and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times,” the 72-year-old explains in the press release. “After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking ‘why not do an album of their music?’ The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I’m so happy with how the music came out. I’m really excited for people to hear it. It’s a perfect time.” The opus was produced by Mark Taylor, who also helmed her legendary Believe album. It would seem that pop is saved.

Cher’s Dancing Queen tracklist:

1. Dancing Queen

2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)

3. The Name Of The Game

4. SOS

5. Waterloo

6. Mamma Mia

7. Chiquitita

8. Fernando

9. The Winner Takes It All

10. One Of Us

Are you excited for the album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!

Tags: ,