John Legend Announces Festive LP, ‘A Legendary Christmas’

Mike Wass | October 1, 2018 12:38 pm
John Legend's 'A Good Night'
John joins forces with BloodPop for disco-tinged love song, 'A Good Night.'

John Legend joins the small army of artists releasing a festive opus this year. Earlier this morning (October 1), the EGOT winner announced a 14-track LP called A Legendary Christmas. It features an interesting selection of easily recognized standards (“Silver Bells” and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”) as well as more obscure seasonal fare by soul artists of yesteryear (“Purple Snowflakes” and “Please Come Home For Christmas”). There are also a smattering of special guests including Stevie Wonder and Esperanza Spalding.

A Legendary Christmas arrives on October 26. John will support the album with a 25-date North American tour that kicks off in Clearwater, FL on November 15 and then stops in most major cities (including Chicago, Detroit, New York, Philadelphia and Los Angeles) before winding up in San Diego, CA on December 30. The album was executive produced by Raphael Saadiq and is destined to offer a soulful alternative to the usual festive releases. Check out the full tracklist below and buy tickets the hitmaker’s tour here.

A Legendary Christmas tracklist:

1. What Christmas Means To Me (feat. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)

2. Silver Bells

3. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (feat. Esperanza Spalding)

4. No Place Like Home

5. Bring Me Love

6. Merry Christmas Baby / Give Love On Christmas Day

7. Christmas Time Is Here

8. Waiting For Christmas

9. Purple Snowflakes

10. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)

11. Please Come Home For Christmas

12. Wrap Me Up In Your Love

13. By Christmas Eve

14. Merry Merry Christmas

Are you excited for John’s festive opus? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!