Maggie Rogers Announces Debut LP, Drops New Single “Light On”

Mike Wass | October 10, 2018 3:06 pm
Maggie's 'Fallingwater' video
Maggie Rogers rolls out the video for 'Fallingwater' and it's a visual feast.

After releasing one of the best EPs of 2017, all eyes were on Maggie Rogers to quickly follow it up with an album. Instead, she took her time. The 24-year-old’s major-label debut will arrive on January 18, 2019. The opus is called Heard It In A Past Life and it contains breakout single “Alaska” as well as viral hit “On + Off.” The rest of the 12-track LP is comprised of new material including atmospheric gem, “Fallingwater,” and the uplifting “Give A Little.” The songs have been uniformly great, but the next single is her best yet.

Maggie rolled out “Light On” as her new single earlier today (October 10) and it’s an instantly catchy anthem with a serious undertone. “This song is a letter to my fans about the last two years of my life,” she explains. “There was so much change that happened so fast, I wasn’t always sure how to make all this stuff feel like me. I was really overwhelmed for a while, and scared too — my life became so public so fast and there were times I wasn’t sure that this was all for me.”

“But I never had doubts about the music. And every night I got on stage and was reminded why I love doing this,” Maggie continues. “This is the most vulnerable I’ve felt in a song and it’s me saying thank you for all the light my fans brought me when I couldn’t find it for myself. I love music more than anything else in the whole world and I always have. This song is me actively choosing this life — in my way and in my time.” See the full tracklist of Heard It In A Past Life below. You can pre-order the album here.

Heard It In A Past Life tracklist:

1. Give A Little

2. Overnight

3. The Knife

4. Alaska

5. Light On

6. Past Life

7. Say It

8. On + Off

9. Fallingwater

10. Retrograde

11. Burning

12. Back In My Body

Are you excited for Maggie’s debut album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!