Get Ready! Usher Is Releasing A New Project Called ‘A’ Tonight

Mike Wass | October 11, 2018 2:24 pm
Usher's 'Hard II Love': Album Review
Is Usher's 'Hard II Love' a slept-on gem or a misfire? Read our review.

Surprise! Usher is releasing a new project called A tonight. While it’s still unclear if A is an album, EP or mixtape (there are only 8 tracks), the R&B icon has kindly shared snippets of each song on his Instagram and it sounds like he has got his groove back. After trying a little too hard to chase trends on 2016’s appropriately-titled Hard II Love, it will be interesting to see if the 39-year-old returns to the silky smooth R&B that made him a household name in the ’90s and a worldwide superstar in the ’00s.

He’s in good hands with Zaytoven. The producer has previously worked with Usher on Raymond V. Raymond and he clearly still has his finger on the pulse of what’s hot in 2018 with credits on Nicki Minaj’s Queen and Lil Wayne’s That Carter V. From the snippets, I’m most excited to hear the full versions of “Say What U Want” (the hitmaker is serving serious vocals) and “You Decide” (there’s nothing like a pornographic slow jam!). Check out the full tracklist and watch the album/EP trailer below. A arrives at midnight EST.

Usher’s A tracklist:

1. Stay At Home

2. ATA

3. Peace Sign

4. You Decide

5. Birthday

6. She Ain’t Tell Ya

7. Say What U Want

8. Gift Shop

Are you excited for his new music? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!