Welcome Back! Jenny Lewis Returns With “Red Bull & Hennessy”

Mike Wass | January 23, 2019 7:06 pm

Alt-pop/indie-rock icon Jenny Lewis makes a very welcome return to the music scene with “Red Bull & Hennessy.” The lead single from On The Line (due March 22) finds the beloved singer/songwriter in fine form. “I’m wired on Red Bull and Hennessy, higher than you,” she growls in that unmistakable voice. “I’m on fire, c’mon and get next to me.” Only this is Jenny Lewis, so there’s a melancholy underbelly to the seemingly straightforward hookup anthem. “Don’t you wanna kiss me? Don’t you wanna even try?”

Five, long years have passed since the arrival of The Voyager in 2014, but it sounds like Jenny’s pen is sharper than ever. The 43-year-old’s knack for subtle hooks is undiminished, while the lyrics transport you to a seedy motel in the middle of nowhere. She is supporting On The Line with a string of headline dates. The tour kicks off in Bloomington, IL on March 26 and stops in most major cities, before winding up in North Hampton, MA on June 22. You can see all the dates and buy tickets here.

Jenny Lewis’ On The Line tracklist:

1. Heads Gonna Roll

2. Wasted Youth

3. Red Bull & Hennessy

4. Hollywood Lawn

5. Do Si Do

6. Dogwood

7. Party Clown

8. Little White Dove

9. Taffy

10. On The Line

11. Rabbit Hole

Do you love the song? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!