Norah Jones Compiles 7 Eclectic Singles On ‘Begin Again’

Mike Wass | February 25, 2019 3:00 pm
Norah Jones' 'Carry On' Video
The jazz superstar returns with 'Carry On' from 6th LP, 'Day Breaks.'

Norah Jones really switched things up with Begin Again, a collection of seven singles she recorded in the last year. Instead of locking herself away in the studio for months, the 9-time Grammy winner decided to work with an eclectic bunch of collaborators in short bursts. “I felt inspired to record and try different things,” the Day Breaks diva reveals. “[This new approach was] quick and fun and easy and low-pressure. It’s a great way to collaborate with other people. Just a day or 3 in the studio and that’s it.”

What was her process? “I try to go in [to the studio] with a few clips of voice memo ideas to have a jumping off point,” Norah explains. “”With each session the little ideas were definitely with those particular musicians in mind, but the hope is to always create in the moment and with each session there were songs that came out of nothing. I was very open and had no real expectations as far as direction, but each session has exceeded my expectations.” The resulting songs are some of the most inventive of her career.

Take the meandering “Just A Little Bit,” which arrived on Friday (February 22). It’s an almost otherworldly dirge complete with lashings of trumpet and saxophone. See the full tracklist for Begin Again below and pre-order it here.

Norah Jones’ Begin Again tracklist:

1. My Heart Is Full

2. Begin Again

3. It Was You

4. A Song With No Name

5. Uh Oh

6. Wintertime

7. Just A Little Bit

Are you excited for Norah’s new project? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!