Hatchie Announces Debut LP ‘Keepsake,’ Drops “Without A Blush”

Mike Wass | February 26, 2019 12:25 pm
The 20 Best EPs Of 2018
From Hatchie to Sasha Sloan, we count down the 20 best EPs of 2018.

Hatchie was one of the most exciting new artists to emerge in 2018. A giddy collection of dreamy, shoe-gazer anthems, her Sugar & Spice EP was lavished with praise (it also landed on my year-end list) and marked the Brisbane singer/songwriter as One To Watch. She’s ready to take it to the next level in 2019 — unveiling the cover and tracklist of her debut LP, Keepsake, and its kaleidoscopic lead single. In some ways, “Without A Blush” picks up where Sugar & Spice left off — but the sound palette is richer and bolder.

There are traces of industrial pop mixed in with Hatchie’s signature cascading synths and fuzzy guitars. It took approximately 5 seconds to click and now I’m thoroughly obsessed. If you’re wondering why the newcomer called her album Keepsake, it turns out she’s rather sentimental. “I’m not much of a nostalgic person when it comes to memories, but I do have a tendency to hold on to certain things, like tickets from the first time I went someplace on holiday,” Hatchie reveals in the press release.

“It made sense to me to call the record that, at a time when I’m going to probably end up with a lot of keepsakes — and in a way, this whole album is almost like a keepsake in itself.” The Aussie dream-pop revivalist will support the project with a North American tour, which kicks off Tustin, CA on April 4. You can see all the dates and buy a ticket here. Make sure you also pre-order Hatchie’s debut LP (out June 21) and check out the intoxicating “Without A Blush” below.

Hatchie’s Keepsake tracklist:

1. Not That Kind

2. Without A Blush

3. Her Own Heart

4. Obsessed

5. Unwanted Guest

6. Secret

7. Kiss The Stars

8. Stay With Me

9. When I Get Out

10. Keep

How did you discover Hatchie’s music? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!