Taron Egerton Reimagines Elton John’s “Rocket Man” For ‘ROCKETMAN’ Soundtrack

Mike Nied | May 1, 2019 2:00 pm

Anticipation is sky high to see Elton John’s legacy brought to life in ROCKETMAN. Starring Taron Egerton, the biopic arrives May 31. Of course, no tribute to the living legend would be complete without recognizing his iconic discography. And that’s exactly what the project’s accompanying soundtrack is for. Released through Interscope Records, the collection sees Taron and producer Giles Martin reimagine some of Elton’s defining hits. It arrives in full May 24, but we won’t have to wait that long for a first taste. Today (May 1), the first single – an updated take on “Rocket Man” – arrived. Staying fairly true to the source material, the new version is a great promise of things to come.

The single comes packaged alongside an official video, which features footage of Taron in the recording studio and some in character for the film. Other songs to keep an eye peeled for on the soundtrack include takes on “Tiny Dancer,” “Bennie and the Jets” and “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road.” As if that weren’t impressive enough, it also includes a new song featuring vocals from both Elton and Taron. Called “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” the track is co-produced by Martin and Greg Kurstin. Elton opened up about the soundtrack in a press release. “It was so important that the music I composed and recorded had to be sung by Taron. I wanted his interpretation of me, through Bernie’s lyrics & my music – not just acting,” he explained.

“I didn’t want to be in Taron’s shadows, watching over the process, I trusted them to do what they needed to do, artistically, and listening back I’ve been astonished with the results. Getting the music right was the most important thing, as the songs in the film are integral to the story.” Taron also opened up about the chance to work with the enduring super star. “The beauty of having Elton involved with the film is we’ve been able to work with him to see how far we can take these classic songs” he said. “Giles Martin has impeccable taste and massive skills to bring the songs to a place where they are faithful and daring as well.”

Martin also reflected on working on the project. “The great thing about Elton is that he is a true artist and he wants people to expand on his work – he wants interpretations done,” he said. The producer gushed about the music’s importance and Taron’s contribution. “The songs are the story of the movie, the heartbeat of what happens. Once the songs start a whole world opens up. In Taron I’ve never known a singer who dedicates himself so much to the process. I don’t think anyone else could have played Elton.” The soundtrack will be released in a standard and deluxe edition and is available for pre-order now.

There will also be an exclusive version available via Target, which can be pre-ordered as of tomorrow (May 2). In the meantime, get a first taste of the soundtrack and check out the official tracklist below.

“Rocket Man”

ROCKETMAN: Music From The Motion Picture

1.The Bitch Is Back (Introduction)

2. I Want Love

3. Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)

4. Thank You For All Your Loving

5. Border Song

6. Rock & Roll Madonna – Interlude

7. Your Song

8. Amoreena

9. Crocodile Rock

10. Tiny Dancer

11. Take Me To The Pilot

12. Hercules

13. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart – interlude

14. Honky Cat

15. Pinball Wizard – Interlude

16. Rocket Man

17. Bennie and the Jets

18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down – Interlude

19. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word

20. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

21. I’m Still Standing

22. (I’m Gonna) Love Me Again

Are you excited for the soundtrack? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!