Bastille Announces Third LP ‘Doom Days,’ Drops Lead Single “Joy”

Mike Wass | May 30, 2019 10:00 am
Marshmello & Bastille's 'Happier' Video
Marshmello's latest banger gets a tear-jerking video starring Miranda Cosgrove.

EDIT: This post has been updated with video for “Joy,” which features hilarious CCTV footage. Check it out below.

Bastille returned with a vengeance in 2018 when they joined forces with Marshmello for “Happier.” The bittersweet banger was a worldwide chart phenomenon and logged a whopping 34 weeks in the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100. With momentum on their side, the UK band is rolling out their third LP. Doom Days drops June 14 and is a concept album of sorts. It documents the ups and downs of a big night (casual hook-ups and car rides etc.), and the general sense of anxiety and terror that surges through most thinking people in 2019.

It’s not all doom and gloom, however. The album ends on an upbeat note courtesy of lead single, “Joy.” The anthemic, uplifting track is about the power of human communication, be it as simple as getting a text from a friend in times of need. “That glimmer of hope at the end of the album says everything,” frontman Dan Smith explains. “The smallest human gesture can pull you back from the brink.” Pre-order Doom Days here and check out the tracklist below. You can stream “Joy” at the bottom of the post.

Bastille’s Doom Days tracklist:

1. Quarter Past Midnight

2. Bad Decisions

3. The Waves

4. Divide

5. Million Pieces

6. Doom Days

7. Nocturnal Creatures

8. 4AM

9. Another Place

10. Those Nights

11. Joy

Are you excited for Bastille’s new album? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!