Disney Announces ‘The Lion King’ Soundtrack, Out July 11

Mike Nied | June 24, 2019 5:58 pm

Now that the live-action remake of Aladdin is out, Disney is turning its attention to promoting The Lion King in earnest. And that means more Beyoncé! The update on the 1994 classic (which stars the likes of Bey and Donald Glover) premieres July 19. Luckily, we’ll be hearing all new takes on the music before then. Today (June 24), Disney announced that the digital version of the soundtrack arrives July 11. The physical copy will arrive alongside the film premiere the following week. And the tracklist is looking very impressive.

What is on it? Reimagined versions of the movie’s beloved hits including “Circle Of Life,” “Hakuna Matata” and “Be Prepared.” There’s also a new Elton John song called “Never Too Late.” That one is written by Elton and Tim Rice, who collaborated on the music for the original film. Where does Bey come in? She and Donald Glover are putting their own touch on “Can You Feel The Love Tonight.” We got a teaser of the update in a new trailer that premiered over the weekend, and it sounds fabulous. There’s another song on the tracklist that doesn’t have a title yet.

Nothing is confirmed, but I’m holding out hope that it is a new song featuring the diva. Other things to keep an eye out for include production from Pharrell Williams and an updated score courtesy of Hans Zimmer. Director Jon Favreau opened up about the importance of the music in a press release. “Even if you don’t know the film or stage show, there is a spiritual strength in it,” he said. “But if you know the film, and if you grew up with this music—now it can suddenly and immediately evoke the story itself, as well as all the connected memories and emotions that you have from your own past experience with The Lion King.”

Get a taste of “Can You Feel The Love Tonight” and check out the tracklist below. You can also pre-order the physical copy here.

“Can You Feel The Love Tonight” Teaser

The Lion King Soundtrack Setlist

1. “Circle Of Life” / “Nants’ Ingonyama”

2. “Life’s Not Fair”

3. “Rafiki’s Fireflies”

4. “I Just Can’t Wait To Be King”

5. “Elephant’s Graveyard”

6. “Be Prepared (2019 Version)”

7. “Stampede”

8. “Scar Takes The Throne”

9. “Hakuna Matata”

10. “Simba Is Alive!”

11. “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”

12. “Can You Feel The Love Tonight”

13. “Reflections Of Mufasa”

14. TBA

15. “Battle For Pride Rock”

16. “Remember”

17. “Never Too Late”

18. “He Lives In You”

19. “Mbube”

Are you excited for the soundtrack? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!