Beyoncé Unveils ‘The Lion King: The Gift’ Tracklist, Readies “Spirit” Video

Mike Nied | July 16, 2019 8:00 pm

UPDATE: Beyoncé’s “Spirit” video has arrived, and it is breathtakingly gorgeous. Watch below.

We’re just a couple days away from the release of The Lion King, which means Beyoncé’s accompanying album is on the way. The living legend executive-produced The Lion King: The Gift, a 14-song collection in addition to the official soundtrack. “Spirit,” the project’s lead single, arrived last week and is predictably fabulous. Today (July 16) the tracklist was unveiled ahead of its July 19 release date. And it is safe to say that it features a star-studded list of collaborators. Queen Bey features on the majority of the songs. However, only a handful are solos. Instead, most are collaborations.

Bey links up with Kendrick Lamar on “The Nile” and Childish Gambino and JAY-Z on “Mood 4 Eva.” Salatiel and Pharrell hop on “Water” with her. Meanwhile, her daughter Blue Ivy Carter appears to take the lead on “Brown Skin Girl.” I’m already slayed by that one. Others who lend their voices include the likes of Tierra Whack, Jessie Reyez, Tekno, Mr. Eazi, Burna Boy and more. “This soundtrack is a love letter to Africa and I wanted to make sure we found the best talent from Africa, and not just use some of the sounds and did my interpretation of it,” Beyoncé explained in an interview with Good Morning America.

That’s not all, either. Tonight ABC is hosting a special called The Lion King: Can You Feel the Love Tonight. During it, there will be an additional interview with Bey. She’ll also premiere a video in support of “Spirit.” The special starts at 8pm ET, and you’ll want to make sure you tune in. Also, keep an eye on this post. We’ll get it updated with the visual once it arrives. In the meantime, check out The Gift’s tracklist and album cover below.

“Spirit” Video


1. “Bigger” – Beyoncé

2. “Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)” – Beyoncé

3. “Don’t Jealous Me” – Tekno, Yemi Alade, Mr. Eazi

4. “Ja Ara E” – Burna Boy

5. “The Nile” – Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar

6. “Mood 4 Eva” – Beyoncé, Jay-Z, Childish Gambino

7. “Water” – Salatiel, Pharrell, Beyoncé

8. “Brown Skin Girl” – Blue Ivy Carter, St. Jhn, Wiz Kid, Beyoncé

9. “Keys to the Kingdom” – Tiwa Savage, Mr. Eazi

10. “Otherside” – Beyoncé

11. “Already” – Beyoncé, Shatta Wale

12. “My Power” – Tierra Whack, Beyoncé, Busiswa, Yemi Alade, Moonchild Sanelly

13. “Scar” – 070 Shake, Jessie Reyez

14. “Spirit” – Beyoncé

Cover Art:


What song are you most excited to hear off the tracklist? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!