New Music! Céline Dion Drops “Imperfections,” “Lying Down” & “Courage”

Mike Wass | September 18, 2019 8:05 am
Céline Reveals 'Courage' Cover
Céline Dion has revealed the stunning cover art of new album, 'Courage.'

Céline Dion is back, and she’s making up for lost time! Last night, the legendary songbird unveiled the cover art of Courage, her first English-language album in six years. This morning (September 18), she rolls out three new songs. Let’s start with the official lead single. Co-written by LAUV and produced by Dallas K, “Imperfections” is the living legend’s most contemporary-sounding song in years. Possibly decades. “I try to give all of myself to you, but before I can give it, I got parts of me I’m trying to lose,” she sings over mid-tempo synths.

That leads to an understated (by her standards), but instantly catchy chorus about self-reflection. “I’ve got my own imperfections, I got my own set of scars to hide,” the Canadian hitmaker belts. “I got my own imperfections, I can’t hold your heart when I’m fixing mine.” If pop radio plays along, this could be a big song for her. The other tracks are equally eclectic. “Courage,” probably my favorite of the three, is a simple piano ballad that lets Céline pull the vocal trigger as she shares important life lessons. It’s raw and very emotional.

Next up is “Lying Down.” It’s a soaring electro-ballad, which was co-written by the all-star team of David Guetta, Giorgio Tuinfort and Sia. It’s about jettisoning the baggage that comes along with a toxic relationship. The icy production suggests that Céline is really going to push the sonic boundaries on Courage, which drops on November 15 and is available to pre-order now. Make sure you also secure tickets to her Courage World Tour. It kicks off in Québec, Canada tonight and is destined to be a dazzling spectacle.

Listen to all three of Céline’s new songs below.


“Lying Down”


Which song do you prefer? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!