Coldplay’s ‘Everyday Life’ Era Begins With “Orphans” & “Arabesque”

Mike Wass | October 24, 2019 2:40 pm

UPDATE: Coldplay dropped a gravity-defying video (directed by Mat Whitecross) for “Orphans.” Check it out below.

Coldplay Announces 'Everyday Life'
The band will roll out a double album called 'Everyday Life' on November 22.

Coldplay could teach a master class in rolling out album. The innovative rockers announced their upcoming double album, Everyday Life (due November 22), by sending letters to 500 lucky fans and then shared the tracklist via classified ads in the band’s hometown (Exeter, Southampton, Fife and Flintshire) newspapers. They now officially launch the era by unveiling the album cover, which is based on a 1919 photo of guitarist Jonny Buckland’s great-grandfather’s band, and dropping two new songs — “Orphans” and “Arabesque.”

The tracks couldn’t sound more different, but both were produced by The Dream Team. “Orphans” is breezy, uptempo pop/rock (albeit with a Coldplay twist), while “Arabesque” finds the band at their most experimental. The 5:40 minute anthem features vocals from French hitmaker Stromae and horns by Femi Kuti. The effect is sprawling, grandiose and instantly captivating. If these songs are any indication, Everyday Life, which is separated into Sunrise and Sunset segments, is going to be a mixed bag in the most exciting way possible. Listen to both songs below.

“Orphans” Video

Coldplay’s Everyday Life tracklist:


1. Sunrise

2. Church

3. Trouble In Town

4. BrokEn

5. Daddy


7. Arabesque

8. When I Need A Friend


1. Guns

2. Orphans

3. Èkó

4. Cry Cry Cry

5. Old Friends

6. بنی آدم

7. Champion Of The World

8. Everyday Life

Do you love their new songs? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!