John Legend Calls On Kelly Clarkson For ‘A Legendary Christmas’ Reissue

Mike Wass | October 28, 2019 12:49 pm
John Legend's 'A Good Night'
John joins forces with BloodPop for disco-tinged love song, 'A Good Night.'

It’s that time of year. Namely, the two-month window before Christmas when record labels roll out their festive offerings. While most of the albums will become little more than a footnote in an artist’s discography, a select few are embraced as seasonal favorites. The most obvious examples are Mariah Carey’s mega-selling Merry Christmas and Michael Bublé’s annually-charting Christmas. John Legend is a definite contender to join this exclusive club. Particularly with news that a deluxe edition of A Legendary Christmas is dropping November 8 (pre-order here).

John’s festive opus, first released last year, strikes the perfect balance between tradition and contemporary soul. It also boasts a collaboration with Stevie Wonder and a toe-tapping Christmas original called “Bring Me Love.” The deluxe edition ups the ante, however, by adding four new tracks including a modernized version of “Baby It’s Cold Outside” featuring Kelly Clarkson. (There are new lyrics courtesy of John and Natasha Rothwell from HBO’s Insecure). See the full tracklist below.


1. What Christmas Means to Me (feat. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)

2. Bring Me Love

3. This Christmas

4. My Favorite Things

5. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (feat. Kelly Clarkson)

6. Christmas in New Orleans

7. Silver Bells

8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (feat. Esperanza Spalding)

9. No Place Like Home

10. Merry Christmas Baby / Give Love on Christmas Day

11. Christmas Time Is Here

12. By Christmas Eve

13. Purple Snowflakes

14. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)

15. Please Come Home for Christmas

16. Wrap Me Up in Your Love

17. Waiting for Christmas

18. Merry Merry Christmas

Will you be adding this to your collection? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!