John Mayer Debuts “Wildfire,” Reveals ‘Paradise Valley’ Tracklist & New Release Date

After releasing his maybe-Taylor Swift-referencing lead single “Paper Heart” last month, John Mayer gives us a second taste of what’s to come on Paradise Valley with “Wildfire.”  In the new song, Mayer makes a sharp turn towards country with the laid-back, windows-down jam, complete with handclaps and a whole lot of slide guitar.

It’s a sweet ditty, with not-particularly-groundbreaking lyrics like, “You look fine, fine, fine / Put your feet up next to me / We can watch that water line / Go higher and higher” — that is, it might not be one of the singer’s thought-provoking songs, but it’s 100% fitting for the season and gives Mayer the opportunity to expand his fanbase, since “Wildfire” would sound right at home on country radio.

Team Mayer released a lyric video for “Wildfire” today featuring the studio version of the song synced up with footage from Mayer’s recent live performances at outdoor amphitheaters; it’s a fitting accompaniment for the summery track. Mayer is performing in North America through the beginning of October, making a stop in New York to play the Global Poverty Project benefit concert in Central Park. The Paradise Valley tour will also hit cities in South America and Europe.

Details had already been released about John Mayer’s upcoming LP Paradise Valley, but the album has now been pushed back a week, with a new release date set for August 20. The album track, “Wildfire,” is now available for download when you pre-order the singer/songwriter’s sixth studio release on iTunes. Check out the tracklist below.

Paradise Valley Track Listing:

  1. Wildfire
  2. Dear Marie
  3. Waiting on the Day
  4. Paper Doll
  5. Call Me the Breeze
  6. Who You Love
  7. I Will Be Found (Lost at Sea)
  8. Wildfire
  9. You’re No One ’til Someone Lets You Down
  10. Badge and Gun
  11. On the Way Home